Words to Live By

It’s Friday! Not that it means much around here, right now my weekends look much the same as every other day as I’m trying to get the first draft of Knot in Time finished and out to my beta readers and editors. (For a sneak peek at the cover, you can jump over to my author Facebook page!) But, since most of the world celebrates the coming of the weekend, and I needed a short break, I thought I’d post some quotes from some of my favorite authors to put a smile on your face and maybe spark some of those languishing neurons to get you through your Friday. (Thanks to GoodReads.com for making these so easy and fun to find!)

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.”
― Ray BradburyZen in the Art of Writing

“The world is indeed full of peril and in it there are many dark places. But still there is much that is fair. And though in all lands, love is now mingled with grief, it still grows, perhaps, the greater.”
― J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”
― Frank HerbertDune

“So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall.”
― Roald Dahl

“The Guide says there is an art to flying”, said Ford, “or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.”
― Douglas AdamsLife, the Universe, and Everything

“Things need not have happened to be true. Tales and dreams are the shadow-truths that will endure when mere facts are dust and ashes, and forgot.”
― Neil GaimanDream Country

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”
― George R.R. MartinA Game of Thrones

“I’m a kind of paranoiac in reverse. I suspect people of plotting to make me happy.”
― J.D. SalingerRaise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters & Seymour: An Introduction

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”
― George Orwell

“If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe.”
― Carl SaganCosmos

“As for monkeys, I would have five, and they would be named: See No Evil, Hear No Evil, Speak No Evil, Do Pretty Much Whatever The Hell You Want, and Expensive Attorney.”
― Tad Williams

“Google’ is not a synonym for ‘research’.”
― Dan BrownThe Lost Symbol

“The movie of my life must be really low budget.”
― Jim ButcherDead Beat

And, finally:

“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”
― Douglas AdamsThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Happy Friday everyone!

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Books/Writing, Random/Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Half of those quotes made me laugh, the other half made me think. There’s hope for me yet! Enjoyed and shared!

  2. Thinking and laughing are two of my favorite things!

Leave a Reply

