Valentines For Everyone!

My day yesterday began, as it usually does, with a few minutes before breakfast of checking social media, email, and the like. I noticed for the hundredth time that the sidebar of Facebook was littered with ads like “Older Men Only” and “Ready to Date?” and “Women Want to Meet You”. There was even “Looking for Women in Tulsa?”.

I’ve never been to Tulsa. I don’t think I’ve ever even met anyone from there. I’m sure it’s a nice town, but really, I’m not looking to date anyone from there at this time. Sorry ladies!

Once upon a time, I used to click up in the corner of these annoying and ridiculous ads and select “Hide All From _______”. Facebook then pops up a small window asking why with a list of options. I’d select “Uninteresting” or “Offensive” or “Against My Views” and move on.

I can testify from first hand experience that Facebook pays no attention whatsoever to its own feedback portals. Ads from the same company/website were back on the page the next day — sometimes the same day. So, I gave up and did my best to ignore the voluptuous women in my sidebar who constantly cried out for my companionship.

One has to remain strong in the face of adversity.

But, yesterday, probably because of the impending celebration of chocolate and roses, I broke down and posted this question on my Facebook author page:

Do you think if I changed my Relationship Status to “Dead” that Facebook would stop showing me dating site ads?

This prompted some fun responses and lightened my mood considerably (thank you all!) but it also got me to thinking. What will happen to all these dating sites when we are all infected and attacked by the living dead?

What? You’ve never considered the difficulties of an unattached zombie before? I can’t help it. I’m a writer. I think about these things.

At any rate, I think I’ve got my post-apocalyptic career path all in place. Zombie Dating! What do you think? Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

TuckerTumbles_MulchCom

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Random/Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sooo hilarious, Alan! You get ‘Dating sites’, and I get…ready…fat reducing ads with grotesque pictures of female fat bellies! LOL! Thanks for the laugh! Happy Valentine’s Day to the Brains of this outfit!

  2. Just shows how little Facebook knows about its customers! Hope your V-Day is going well 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. This reminds me of a time about a year ago when I was receiving regular junk mail from singles outfits. At the same time, my husband was getting AARP flyers and stuff about ‘Dying with Dignity.’ I thought it was hilarious. He did not.

Leave a Reply

