Tween the Weekends: Pick a Jenni!

tweentheweekends_bannerHere we are, ‘tween the weekends! The fourth Wednesday of each month, Emblazon will host this meme celebrating all things Tween Literature. Be sure to click on the TTW banner above and check out all the other participating blogs!

This week, I’m going to give you a peek inside the world of cover design. I’m currently in the midst of doing a redesign of the covers for the Mother-Earth Series, starting with A Measure of Disorder. As some of you probably know, Jenni Kershaw is the main character and I’m looking to put her front and center (well, maybe slightly off center) for the first time! She’s a fourteen year-old, eighth grade girl with mousy brown hair and brown eyes. You might think it would be easy to find a picture to fit that description, and in some ways, I suppose it was. But, finding Jenni has been a much tougher task. I’ve looked through literally thousands of images on nearly a dozen stock photography sites and I’ve managed to narrow the field down to four.

Jennis

Jenni #1 is the one I used in the very first book preview movie I did about three years ago, soon after the book first hit the shelves. You can see it here. Candidates #2 through #4 are the newcomers and they all have positives to offer.

So, here’s where you come in. Tell me what you think! Which one of these girls is Jenni in your eyes? Cast your vote in the comments and you’ll be entered to win an ebook copy of the Mother-Earth Series Omnibus (all three books in the series) in your choice of format! So, click that comment button and pick your Jenni! I’ll reveal the winner of the contest as well as give you a sneak peek at the brand new cover in a post some time next week.

In the meantime, stop by on Friday, July 26th for another great contest with a ton of other prizes! I think the summer heat has baked my brain — someone stop me before I give away my kids! Enjoy your Wednesday and have some fun today!

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on July 24, 2013, in Books/Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. sharonledwith

    Number 3 has my vote hands down, Alan! Sounds like you’re having fun with the process! Best luck in picking your Jenni!

  2. Love how you made the tween feature so relevant to what you’re working on right now, Alan. (I still like #3 the best, too.)

  3. I like Number 3! She definitely looks like a Jenni! And she’s someone Tweens could relate to! 🙂

  4. Oooh, fun post, Alan! I like No. 3 and No. 4, but No. 3 is my favorite. Looks like that’s three of us so far that like No. 3 the best! Someone better turn that summer heat down so you don’t give away your kids! LOL!

  5. I like #3 as well, with #2 as a second choice. #1 and #4 just look a little too mature to pull off an eighth grade student. Awesome that you’re polling the internet for their opinion!

  6. #3 is my favorite. Hopping along the Summer Splash!

  7. I like #3 also. She looks more mysterious. Thanks for being part of the blog hop! I am having a blast. Going to grab your free book now, TY!

  8. Awesome hop! My favorite is #3.

  9. Barbara Stull

    I like #4. Thanks for taking part in the hop!!

  10. Thank you for participating in the fun hop and letting us participate in sharing our opinions. I am going start off with saying in my opinion all of these young ladies are lovely; however, model #1 looks like a real girl. The other three look like models and of course they can be made down, but #1 looks like a diamond in the rough and much more real for the age group.
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

  11. Number three would be the best pick awesome.

  12. Thanks, Alan. I prefer Jennie #4 for the girl with the “mousy brown hair and brown eyes.” I think #1 looks too mature and #s 2 and 3 look too much like models. Thanks for participating in the Summer Splash Blog Hop! jdh2690@gmail.com

  13. My vote is for Jenni #3. 🙂

  14. I like them all. If I must choose, then I choose #2.

  15. This book sounds amazing! I love science fiction and topics like this so much. I like #3 – she’s got a quality about her that’s different than the others – she’s unique looking, but super pretty. Not cookie cutter. 🙂

  16. I like #2; she looks like she has a little bit of fire in her. 🙂

  17. #3 definitely! you gotta pick 3!

  18. Hey Alan, I like number 3.

  1. Pingback: A Little Perspective … And Lots of Free Stuff! | Our Great Escapes

Leave a Reply

