A Little Perspective … And Lots of Free Stuff!

20130722_annotated_earth-moon_from_saturn_1920x1080

Picture of Earth taken from NASA’s Cassini Space Probe orbiting Saturn on July 20, 2013.

One of the main reasons I love writing science fiction and fantasy is it forces my mind and imagination to expand, to think about things that are literally out of this world. The universe is mind bogglingly big. When life seems to be getting too hectic, I like to take a step back — a BIG step back — and remember that we’re just collections of complex carbons and various other elements, sitting on a speck of rock, spinning around a non-descript star, in a non-descript section of the universe. It helps to give me some perspective and remember not to sweat the small stuff.

But the vast majority of you are here to win things, so let’s get to it!

splashlogo

I’ve got a signed, paperback copy of Knot in Time up for grabs, a scifi/adventure story about a young man with a famous last name who’s asked to help keep track of the threads of time. From the back cover:KnotinTime_ToU1

My name is Darius Arthur Heisenberg, but most people call me Dare. If my last name sounds familiar, it’s probably because of my great-great uncle Werner Heisenberg. He was a physicist who came up with something called the Uncertainty Principle. But listen, Uncle Werner had no idea how uncertain things really are.

I work for a group, called the Keepers, that label themselves the custodians of time. And, believe me, time is a mess. It needs all the custodians it can get. Which is, of course, why the Keepers selected me, a nineteen-year-old high school dropout, to join them. I recently worked as a janitor for a couple months. Perfect fit, right?

Okay, it didn’t make much sense to me either, but I wasn’t in a position to turn down a steady job and a roof over my head. Besides, all I’m supposed to do is travel through time and save the universe as we know it, how hard could it be?

Yeah, better hold on. This could get ugly.

To win the book, and assist in gaining entry to some of the other grand prizes, like a Kindle Fire HD and bunches of Amazon gift cards and other books, scroll down to the previous post on this blog, “Tween the Weekends: Pick a Jenni!” and help me redesign a book cover by selecting your favorite “Jenni” from the images shown. Comment with your selection and you’ll be entered to win the copy of Knot in Time as well as an e-book copy of the Mother-Earth Series. You can also grab an ebook copy of A Measure of Disorder for free from the sidebar over there >>>

If you’d like to find more quality books for teens and tweens and read lots of great articles regarding that age group, check out Emblazon. And if you’re looking for reading material with a minimum of graphic violence and objectionable language, have a look at Clean Indie Reads for an ever-growing list of great books for all ages with less than an R rating.

Thanks so much for stopping by and happy hopping! (You can click on the hop banner above to get back there if you’re lost in a sea of open browser windows!)

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Valerie Rhodes

    I’d choose Jenni 3 Thanks for supporting the hop! Its been so much fun!

  2. (posted on the other page too, wasn’t sure if you wanted comments on this post or the pick-a-Jenni post) I like #3 as well, with #2 as a second choice. #1 and #4 just look a little too mature to pull off an eighth grade student. Awesome that you’re polling the internet for their opinion!

  3. #3 is my choice. Have a nice day!

  4. I really like number 3 I think that would be the best choice:)

  5. Thank you again for participating in the fun. I left my opinion below and am looking forward to seeing your decision 🙂

  6. Fellow hopper dropping by. 🙂

  7. Number three is the pick i would choose.

  8. Greetings fellow Scifi writer!!! I absolutely love your “you are here” photo. My choice for “jenn” is number 3.

  9. I really like #3. Great Hop Thanks!! Got to keep hopping..

  10. Just stopping in to say hi and good luck on your hop!

  11. My choice would be #3. Thanks for participating in the Blog Hop!

  12. My choice would be Jenni #3. 🙂

  13. Number 2 is my favorite. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  14. I like number two the best, as she is sweet but smart looking! Number three would be my second choice, because she is just a little bit too pretty to seem to bother with anything but boys. My daughters will love your books and so will I! Thank you so much for the fun hop stop, thank you for participating in the hop so I could find you, and thank you for the cool giveaway!

  15. Hey, Alan, thanks for stopping by my site and best wishes to you with the blog hop, my friend!

  16. Hi! I like #3. Shes my pick! Thank you for participating in this awesome hop! Im having a blast! Thank you the fantastic giveaways too! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Just checking into your Summer Splash Hop from a fellow hopper!

  18. Aloha! Thanks for hopping along with us! May your life and work be filled with love, imagination and inspiration!

  19. I shared this (tweeted)! Would love to know who wins! I always wonder! 🙂

  20. I shared this Alan! Hope it is tremendously successful!

  21. I’m winning – at least I hope so! LOL

  22. I will take whatever I get, thanks

  23. bookaholicholly

    Jenni #2 and Jenny #3 are the prettiest ones. Jenny #3 will probably be the best bet here.

  24. I’d choose #3! Thank You for this great blog hop!

Leave a Reply

