Tween the Weekends: News From Hollywood!

Here we are again, ‘tween the weekends in the last week of the month! Where did August go? Today I thought we’d look at some upcoming movies that are sure to be of interest to Tweens in the next few months. First though, I want to show you some fun pics from one of the Teen Choice Award gift lounges. Copies of A Measure of Disorder and Knot in Time were on display and picked up by two up and coming young actors.

 

Screen shot 2013-08-22 at 8.14.06 AMJoey Luthman is a talented young performer who appeared most recently as Teen Zoltan in an episode of Disney’s A.N.T. Farm this year. Ironically, his character built a time machine and now he’s reading my time travel adventure! He has also appeared in episodes of iCarly and How to Rock on Nickelodeon.

Joey will be starring in a movie titled Opening Night that is currently filming and releasing some time in 2014. It’s a comedy about a high school production of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and looks like it could be a lot of fun!

Ty Parker picked up both A Measure of Disorder and Knot in Time. He’ll be appearing in the highly anticipated Ender’s Game, coming this November. Ty’s also performed in several skits on Jimmy Kimmel Live! last year.

I love the fact that these busy teens are still taking the time to read books! I wish you boys nothing but the best in all your future endeavors!

Okay, let’s have a look at some of the movies on the horizon that Tweens, Teens, and even Moms and Dads are salivating for! All links go to YouTube trailers for each movie.

Screen shot 2013-08-27 at 1.20.52 PMAugust:
One Direction: This is Us
Getaway

September:
Battle of the Year
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2

October:
Grace Unplugged
Romeo & Juliet

November:
Ender’s Game
Frozen
Free Birds
Thor: The Dark World
The Book Thief
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games 2)

December:
The Hobbit, Part 2: The Desolation of Smaug
Walking With Dinosaurs
Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

There’s a lot of stuff to get excited about in that list and something to please just about any kind of moviegoer. I’m going to have to save my pennies to get to watch all those I’m really jazzed for, especially in November and December! Which ones are you most looking forward to? Did I miss any you’ve been dying to see? Let me know in the comments and enjoy your Tween the Weekend! Don’t forget to head on over to the Emblazoners site for more Tween the Weekend posts!

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Books/Writing, Random/Rants, SciFi/Fantasy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Wow, Alan, I find it fascinating that you can smooze your books into Hollywood functions! Such a classy guy! So, my next question is, when are the movies coming out? Hugs and best wishes!

  2. Cordelia Dinsmore

    I’m impressed, too, Alan. Kudos to you! Of course, I’ve read A Measure of Disorder and can understand why tweens would love it. Not so sure about those movies, though. I’ll have to check out the videos and see to be sure.

  3. Thanks, ladies! It’s through a group called the Indiexhibit and they’ve done a fantastic job so far! Sharon, I can only hope that someone in a position to make a difference will cast their eyes toward one of my books someday 😉

  4. Very cool, Alan, hanging out with the stars! The only two movies on your list I’m really looking forward to are the next Hobbit and Hunger Games installments. I really really like your new cover, btw.

    • Thanks so much, Michelle! I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t seen the first Hobbit movie yet *turns in nerd card for immediate destruction* — I got really turned off by the fact that Jackson had to make THREE movies out of the book. He managed to do the LOTR in three movies that I really enjoyed, so it didn’t make sense to draw the Hobbit out so much. It’s a personal problem and I’m sure I’ll get over it eventually 😉

  5. Alan, loved this post. I think deep down one of my dreams is to have a book made into a movie. Authors probably all have that dream. Anyhow, books and movies do go hand in hand. My cute daughter is dying for the One Direction movie. I will probably be the one taking them to the midnight showing and suffering through. 🙂

  6. Great post Alan and kudos to you! Getting your books in Hollywood’s hands, no small task I’m sure! 🙂 Just think one of those actors could be the director for your movie when he’s ready to direct! Good luck to you!

  7. Squee for an Ender’s Game actor handling your book! I hope you feel special–very special. 😉 You should give the Hobbit a try. I felt much the same way, and wouldn’t have bothered except my daughter dragged me out to it (plus, it was being shown free at the library with hobbit food and costumes) but it really was pretty good. You’ll feel a deja vu from LOTR a few times, but it will still entertain, and the casting of Thorin Oakenshield was pure brilliance!

    Thanks for stopping by the blog, and glad we could ‘meet’ since you look like my kind of author. Will know for sure after reading A Measure of Disorder, which I’ve downloaded. 😉

  8. OH MY GOSH, THAT’S SO AWESOME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

