Take Things for Granted at Your Own Peril

Ah, the joys of home ownership!

I woke up about 3 AM the night before last, shivering and with a nose that felt like someone had replaced it with an ice cube. Grumbling, I put on my robe and trudged down to the basement with a flashlight to check on the furnace. A few minutes of investigation and smacking my head on a pipe determined that the problem was beyond my meager knowledge and I stomped back upstairs after making sure my daughter still had her electric blanket on. I grabbed a couple more blankets out of the hall closet and curled up for the rest of a long night with my head under the covers.

In the morning, after a scalding shower, I did a quick search on the Internet for helpful tips and/or quick fixes for anything I might have been ignorant of. No dice. Fortunately, the repair place I called was able to come over in a short amount of time, diagnose the problem and get us up and running again after replacing the transformer. I thanked the repairman and signed off on the $230 bill.

It was a decent chunk of change for folks who live largely paycheck to paycheck, but it could have been much worse. Replacing the thing might have cost as much as $2,000. Also, temperatures this week have been mild compared to just a few days ago when it was frequently below zero.

We take so many things for granted, it can really be astonishing if you take the time to think about it. A warm house, a running vehicle, food in the refrigerator — even having a refrigerator! We rant and complain when the Internet or the cable TV is out, but rarely do we stop and realize what wonders we have access to.

Hug your loved ones and be grateful for their health and their presence. Take a moment to appreciate the daily conveniences we normally take for granted. You’ll sorely miss them if they ever disappear.

About Alan Tucker

Writer, Dad, Graphic Designer, Soccer Coach … not necessarily in that order!

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Random/Rants. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So true, Alan! You’re mindset is stellar! Gratitude is the right attitude! I’m so glad we connected! Keep warm!

  2. Well said. (and I am glad you got your heat back!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

